Christmas 2022

We warmly welcome you to celebrate with us this Christmas.

As always, our churches are open daily during Christmastide for you to pray and visit the Crib.

Saturday 17 December

8am 'Rorate' Mass of our Lady by candlelight (St John's)

followed by breakfast

Sunday 18 December: Fourth Sunday of Advent

Blessing of the Christmas Tree after 11am High Mass

Monday 19 December

7.30pm LGBT+ Carol Service (St John's)

Preacher: The Rt Revd David Gillett, formerly Bishop of Bolton

followed by refreshments

Saturday 24 December: Christmas Eve

11am to 12 noon Confessions (St John's)

12 noon Last Mass of Advent (St John's)

4pm Blessing of the Crib with carols (St John's)

Especially suitable for children and families, but all welcome!

11.30pm Midnight Mass and Procession (St John's)

Sunday 25 December: Christmas Day

10am High Mass of the Day (St John's)

6pm Evening Prayer at the Crib (St Julian's)

Monday 26 December: St Stephen

10am Low Mass (St Julian's)

Tuesday 27 December: St John, Apostle & Evangelist

12 noon Low Mass (St John's)

Wednesday 28 December: The Holy Innocents

10am Low Mass (St Julian's)

followed by coffee and Christmas cake at the Rectory

Thursday 29 December: St Thomas Becket

12 noon Low Mass (St John's)

Friday 30 December: in the Octave of Christmas

5pm Low Mass (St Julian's)

Saturday 31 December: in the Octave of Christmas

12 noon Low Mass (St John's)

Sunday 1 January: Mary, Mother of God

9am Low Mass (St Julian's)

11am Procession and High Mass (St John's)

6pm Evening Prayer and Benediction (St John's)

Friday 6 January: Feast of the Epiphany

12 noon Low Mass (St John's)

7.30pm Procession, Blessing of the Epiphany Crib and High Mass (St John's)

followed by drinks

Sunday 8 January: Feast of the Baptism of Our Lord

9am Low Mass (St Julian's)

11am High Mass (St John's)

IMG_20210105_194459.jpg

Confessions before Christmas

A priest will be in St John’s to hear Confessions, give spiritual advice and pronounce the forgiveness of sins at the following times before Christmas.

Tuesday 20 December

11am to 12 noon

Wednesday 21 December

12 noon to 1pm

5pm to 6pm

Thursday 22 December

11am to 12 noon (during Exposition)

Christmas Eve

11am to 12 noon

Christmas collections

This Christmas, the collections at our main services will all be given away - divided between The Matthew Project (a Norwich-based charity providing support to people affected by substance misuse), The Prison Fellowship (which aims to show Christ's love to prisoners), and UNICEF's Covid vaccination programme (delivering 2 billion Covid-19 vaccines for health workers and the most high risk people on our planet).

Please give generously.